1.8 featuring MELANIE S. HATTER

MELANIE is an award-winning author of two novels and one short story collection. Selected by Edwidge Danticat, Malawi’s Sisters won the inaugural Kimbilio National Fiction Prize, published by Four Way Books in 2019. The Color of My Soul won the 2011 Washington Writers’ Publishing House Fiction Prize, and Let No One Weep for Me, Stories of Love and Loss was released in 2015. Melanie received a 2019  Maryland State Arts Council grant for her writing. She is a participating author with the PEN/Faulkner Writers in Schools program, and she served four years on the board of the Zora Neale Hurston/Richard Wright Foundation.

Check out her reading here!

To purchase Malawis Sisters go to Four Way’s site: or to Melanie’s neighborood bookstore, Loyalty Bookstore (black woman owned):

Melanie S. Hatter

Sign up for the BAD MOUTH email list here:

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s